Miscellaneous Places

"BLACKENHURST HUNDRED, one of the 5 hundreds or subdivisions of the county of Worcester, situated in the eastern division of the county, and bounded on the N. by Warwickshire, on the S. and E. by Gloucestershire, and on the W. by the hundred of Oswaldslow. It is in two divisions, upper and lower. The lower contains the parishes of Great Hampton, Abbots Morton, Norton, and Oldberrow, with part of Church Lench, and the borough of Evesham. The upper division contains the parishes of Badsey, Breforton, Church Honeybourne, North and South Littleton, Offenham, and Wickhamford. The entire hundred comprises an area of about 17,300 acres."
"DODDINGTREE, a hundred in the N.W. portion of Worcestershire, divided into upper and lower. The former contains the parishes of Acton-Beauchamp, King's Areley, Clifton-on-Teame, Cotheridge, Eastham, Edvin-Loach, Hanley-William, Great Kyre, Martley, Pritchard Sapey, Walsh Shelsley, Stanford-on-Teame, Suckley, Tenbury, and parts of Bockleton, Shelsley Beauchamp, and Stoke Bliss, comprising 29,920 acres. The lower contains the borough of Bewdley and parishes of Abberley, Astley, Bayton, Doddenham, Mamble, Ribbesford, Rock, Shrawley, Stockton, Great Witley, and part of Shelsley Beauchamp. The hundred comprises 38,040 acres."
"KINGSHEATH, a hamlet in the parish of Birmingham, hundred of Upper Pershore, county Worcester, 3 miles S. of Pershore. It is situated near the river Avon, on the line of the Gloucester and Birmingham railway. [See Birmingham, Warwickshire - RL 2006]"
"LITTLE KYRE, a hamlet in the parish of Stoke Bliss, hundred of Upper Doddingtree, county Worcester, 1 mile S.E. of Great Kyre, and 5 S.E. of Tenbury. [See Stoke Bliss, Herefordshire - RL 2006]
"LOWER OSWALDSLOW, a hundred in the county of Worcester, contains the parishes of Aston White Lady, St. John Bedwardine, Berrow, Bredicot, Broadwas, Churchill, Coombe d'Abitot, Coombe Earl's, Coombe-Hill, Grimley, Hallow, Hinlip, Holt, Kempsey, Knightwick, Lindridge, Little Malvern, Norton-by-Kempsey Oddingley, Ombersley, Redmarley D'Abitot, Spetchley, Stoulton, Warndon, Welland, Wichenford, Wolverley, and parts of Claines, Hartlebury, St. Martin, St. Peter, and Ripple, comprising an area of 80,565 acres.
"MIDDLE OSWALDSLOW, a hundred in the county of Worcester, contains the parishes of Alvechurch, Bishampton, Cropthorne, Crowle, Castle-Elmley, Fladbury, Hanbury, Harvington, Himbleton, Huddington, Rouse-Lench, Inkberrow, Overbury, Sedgeberrow, Stoke-Prior, Tibberton, and part of Bredon, comprising an area of 58,540 acres.
"PERSHORE, a hundred in two divisions, lower and upper, county Worcester. The former contains the parishes of Birts Morton, Bushley, Castle Morton, Chaceley, Eldersfield, Hanley Castle, Leigh, Longdon, Madresfield, Great Malvern, Mattron, Powick, Sevenstoke, Staunton, Upton-on-Severn, and part of Ripple; the latter contains the parishes of Abberton, Alderminster, Beoley, Birlingham, Broadway, Hackett Broughton, Great and Little Comberton, Dormston, Eckington, Flyford-Flavel, Grafton Flyford, Marton Hussingtree, Naunton Beauchamp, Peopleton, St. Andrew's Pershore, North Piddle, Pirton, Strensham, and Upton Snodsbury, together comprising about 97,210 acres. It gives name to a deanery in the archdeaconry and diocese of Worcester."
"REA, two streams of this name, one rises near Stanton Long, in county Salop, and joins the Teme at Rochford; the other rises under the Clent hills in county Worcester, and passing under the Grand Junction viaduct which is here carried across the valley on 28 arches, joins the Teme near Castle Bromwich."
"TEME, a river of county Worcester, rises under Kerry Hill, on the borders of counties Radnor and Montgomery, and, after a course of nearly 60 miles, joins the Severn near Worcester."
"UPPER OSWALDSLOW, a hundred in the county of Worcester, contains the parishes of Blockley, Cleeve-Prior, Daylesford, Evenload, Shipston-on-Stour, Tidmington, Tredington, and part of Iccomb, comprising an area of 20,960 acres.
"UPPER and LOWER HALFSHIRE, hundreds in the county Worcester. They are situated in the northern part of the county. The former contains the parishes of Bromsgrove, Coston-Hackett, Crotch, Doverdale, Freckingham, Grafton-Manor, Hadsor, Hampton Lovett, King's Norton, Kington, Northfield, Upton Warren, Westwood Park, Yardley, with parts of Dodderhill, Church Lench, Salwarpe, and Tardebigg; the latter the parishes of Belbroughton, Chaddesley-Corbett, Churchill, Dudley, Elmbey, Frankley, Hagley, Pedmore, Rushock, Stone, with parts of Halesowen, Hartlebury, Kidderminster, Old Swinford, and Wolverley, comprising together 112,180 acres.

[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]