Selkirkshire Maps


Selkirkshire is covered by the following Ordnance Survey Landranger maps (scale 1:50000, or 2cm:1km, or 1.25inch:1mile):

  • Sheet 73: Peebles, Galashiels & surrounding area
  • Sheet 79: Hawick & Eskdale area

The following Ordnance Survey Pathfinder maps cover places in the county (scale 1:25000, or 4cm:1km, or 2.5inch:1mile):

  • Sheet 471: Tweedsmuir
  • Sheet 483: White Coomb
  • Sheet 484: Ettrick
  • Sheet 485: Hawick & area

Much of the county formerly covered by Pathfinder maps is now covered by the Ordnance Survey Outdoor Leisure map number 44 "Tweed Valley". This runs from Peebles in the west to St Boswells in the east, and from Lauder in the north to Ashkirk and Minto in the south. The map covers a larger area but is at the same scale as the Pathfinder maps, i.e. 1:25000. It is double-sided to permit this extra geographical coverage.

For a map with broader coverage including this county try the Ordnance Survey Travelmaster Sheet 4 "Southern Scotland and Northumberland". This runs from Dundee (Angus) in the north down to Newcastle-upon-Tyne (Northumberland) in the south and east, and over to Campbeltown (Argyll) in the west. The scale is 1:625000, or 4cm:25km, or 1inch:10miles.

The county is also covered by reprinted one-inch to the mile Victorian Ordnance Survey maps. These are published by Caledonian Maps. The maps covering Selkirkshire are:

  • Sheet 16: Moffat, including Beattock, Eskdalemuir, Ettrick Water, Hart Fell, St Mary's Loch, Thirlestane, Tweedsmuir and Yarrow
  • Sheet 17: Hawick & Jedburgh, including Ancrum, Ashkirk, Bedrule, Bonchester, Cheviot Hills, Hobkirk, Lilliesleaf, Minto, Teviotdale, and Watling Street
  • Sheet 24: Biggar & Peebles, including Carlops, Culter, Broughton, Dolphinton, Dunsyre, Innerleithen, Leadburn, Traquair, Walkerburn and West Linton
  • Sheet 25: Kelso & Melrose, including Earlston, Galashiels, Gordon, Greenlaw, Lauder, Polwarth, Roxburgh, St Boswells, Selkirk and Westruther